Linux:How To Identify Server ECC Memory Modules

| 分类 Linux  | 标签 memory  ecc 
How do I identify Linux server ECC memory modules from a shell prompt?

You need to count the chips on the module. If memory module has 9 chips per sides, it is ECC memory (EDAC protected memory). It may or may not be registered. If the memory module has 8 chips per side, it is not ECC memory modules.

You can get this information by visiting your BIOS setup menu. Another option is to use dmidecode command to dump bios memory information from a shell prompt:
# dmidecode --type 16

# dmidecode 2.11
SMBIOS 2.5 present.
Handle 0x0016, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
Physical Memory Array
    Location: System Board Or Motherboard
    Use: System Memory
    Error Correction Type: Single-bit ECC
    Maximum Capacity: 64 GB
    Error Information Handle: Not Provided
    Number Of Devices: 8

To see memory speed and other information, enter:
# dmidecode --type memory

Repost from:

上一篇     下一篇